Border Battle IX is set to begin on June 29, 2017 at the USA Softball Hall of Fame Complex - OGE Energy Field, in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma!


The four-day event will be highlighted by the Men's Border Battle IX where Team Canada will face Team USA on July 1st (and Canada's 150th Birthday) at 8:00 pm, and look to steal back bragging rights as the best team in North America! Team USA has won seven of eight meetings in the annual Battle, most recently defeating Team Canada 27-8 last year. Team Canada last won the event in 2010, by a score of 30-29.


Team Canada will play a series of exhibition games before the all-important one-game showdown.


The list of athletes selected to participate was chosen by the Coaching Staff and a panel of Slo-Pitch experts from across the country. Performance at provincial, national and international events was used as one of the major considerations to the selections. While some objective criteria were used to invite the Team, it was also recognized that there was a significant subjective element. These elements included such factors as performance, experience, positional requirements, leadership and team cohesion.


The following athletes have been chosen to represent Canada:


Colin Andrews

Jeff Andrews

Ted Baker

Bret Foisy

Olivier Forest

Kyle Knechtel

Mark Kucharski

Steele Lewis

Dustin McLoughlin

Ron Nadalin

Chris Parr

Justin Pennell

Hunter Platten

Kyle Reinders

Jeff Zanolli

Josh Zanolli


With a Coaching Staff of Grant Garrett (Head Coach) and Mike Hrynenko (Assistant Coach), Ryan DeBelser (Team Leader) and Mike Branchaud (Manager-National Teams), we don't like Team USA's chances at victory this year!


We take this opportunity to wish all of the Members of Team Canada the absolute best for a safe and successful Tournament!